Bean Tacos!

Posted on

There’s a Mexican restaurant here in San Jose, CA called Super Taqueria. I am a little brown Vietnamese girl but from what I hear, the food at Super Taqueria is pretty authentic. The restaurant is right next to San Jose State University so during lunch, I ventured over there with my boyfriend. Being pescatarians, we didn’t have as many choices. The Mexican culture eats a lot of carne asada (steak), pollo (chicken), lengua (tongue), and more…I opted for a two super bean tacos and they were DELICIOUS! (Next time, I venture over there, I must take pictures and post them for you guys to see) The pinto beans, salsa, fresh avocados, and cheese sat on two corn tortillas. Later that week, I decided to replicate the taco and see what I could make….

Ta-Da!! Bean tacos from my kitchen. =)

These were absolutely delicious, simple to make, and comparable to the ones at Super Taqueria.

Ingredients:
Vegan Pinto Beans
– Tortillas (I used flour because I love the texture)
– Monterey Jack Cheese (sliced)
– Avocado
– Sour cream (I used Daisy’s)
Home-made Salsa
– 4 Roma tomatoes
– 1 handful of cilantro chopped
– 1/4 of an onion, diced.
– juice of 1 lime
– salt to taste

Heat up your tortilla. (Stick them into the microwave for about 20 seconds or heat them on a pan…I used the pan, I like my tortillas a little brown and crispy. Add your slices of cheese and pack on the hot beans! The heat on the beans will help melt the cheese. Add your slices of avocado, salsa, and dollop of sour cream. Fold and enjoy! =)

Tip: wrap the taco in foil so it doesn’t spill out on the other side…I load my tacos up!

Hope you guy will try out the recipe and let me know what you think! My vegan beans are really tasty but if you guys have another recipe, feel free to leave it below.

Namaste,
Jenn

Leave a comment

EATBREATHEYOGINI

Healthy Pescatarian, Vegetarian & Vegan Recipes + Yoga

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

RelaxingCooking

Trasforma la tua cucina in un'oasi di emozioni positive

Avocados and Ales

Vegan cooking from the Midwest

The Healthy Epicurean

Life in rural France and fun, nutritious eating ideas since 2012