Kale Chips

Posted on

Kale. Kale. Kale. We’ve all heard about the wonders of the superfood KALE.

So what is kale?
Kale looks like lettuce but it’s actually in the cabbage and collard greens family. Some benefits of kale are it is low in calories, high in fiber, and has zero fat. The fiber will keep you feeling fuller for longer. It’s high in Vitamins A, C, K, calcium, and iron. It is PACKED with antioxidants, which we all need, especially when the cold winter months are coming. It will boost your immune system to help prevent sickness and even helps prevent cancer.

So how do we eat it?
You can put kale in anything: salads, juice, and smoothies. You can sautéed it with some onions and vegetables. It will wilt in the pan, just like spinach but has a thicker texture. The taste can take awhile to get used to but just try it in a lot of different ways until you find one that works for you =) If you absolutely cannot take the taste, just throw it in a smoothie or juice. That way, you can get all the benefits without the taste. Mask the taste with fruit. Trick: add blueberries or apples!

I’ve discovered a new way to eat my kale….making them into CHIPS! Yup you heard it right, CHIPS! I’ve always been a salty > sweet person and can eat one of those $4 bag of chips in ONE sitting. I know, horrible. Now I know these aren’t going to taste EXACTLY like your favorite fried potato chips but it is a good alternative. It gives an awesome crunch and is salty & savory.

Here is the BASIC recipe for salty & cheesy kale. I have a few more recipes that I will post up which require more ingredients but I’ll save those for later…

 

Recipe:
1 head of kale
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
a sprinkle of paprika & salt
dehydrator

Directions:
1. Start ripping the kale leaves off the stem into bite-size pieces
2. WASH IT CLEAN and air-dry. The drier, the better the seasonings will stick onto the kale. It’s best if you put it in your salad spinner =)
3. Put in the olive oil, nutritional yeast, paprika, and salt according to taste.
4. Use your hands to coat all the leaves evenly.
5. Place the kale into your dehydrator on the lowest setting for 10-12 hours.
6. Enjoy! =)

Hope you’ve enjoyed this recipe. Let me know what you guys think!

Nasamte,
Jenn

2 responses »

  1. Lovely looking recipe. My recent experience was not so successful. I bought and cooked some kale last week. (first time eating it in over 40 years). I trimmed the stalks to leave only the leaves. Then I boiled it, hoping for a good result after about 5 minutes. 15 minutes of boiling in salted water left me with a tough tasteless green mess. Perhaps it was a low grade kale? I think I will stick to spinach for the time being.
    Best,
    Conor

    Reply
    • Hi Conor,
      I’m sorry you had a bad experience. Kale is great for you so if you could incorporate into your smoothies, it would be nice. You can try sauté the kale with some garlic…it only takes about 3-4 minutes at most. It wilts pretty quick like spinach and try to eat with a carb and protein for dinner. I know, the texture takes a bit to get used to but I hope you’ll give it another try sometime! I’ll post more recipes with kale pretty soon so maybe you can give those a try =)

      Namaste,
      Jenn

      Reply

Leave a comment

EATBREATHEYOGINI

Healthy Pescatarian, Vegetarian & Vegan Recipes + Yoga

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

RelaxingCooking

Trasforma la tua cucina in un'oasi di emozioni positive

Avocados and Ales

Vegan cooking from the Midwest

The Healthy Epicurean

Life in rural France and fun, nutritious eating ideas since 2012