RSS Feed

DETOX YOGA RETREAT

Posted on

Hi there!

On Oct 6-7, I was fortunate to attend a yoga retreat hosted by JennField Yoga located in Woodside, CA. It was located at the Stillheart Institute. While driving up there, I had no idea what to expect. We were literally in the boonies. When we got there, it was absolutely beautiful! It was located in the middle of nature and the retreat center was pretty luxurious. My boyfriend and I were able to stay in a “treehouse”. (Pictures will be below) Our treehouse was super roomy. The bathroom was beautiful and it even had a nice sized tub in it! (I brought all the Lush goodies to take a hot bath in :D) From the bed, all you could see were windows outlooking the forest. To be quite honest, I was a little nervous about the retreat. We were only given two juices for breakfast and lunch. Then we were given a healthy vegetarian meal for dinner. Our wonderful meals were prepared by the one and only YummiYogini. We were to do two yoga classes a day. The morning one were 2 hours long and very challenging. The class is designed to twist your intestines around so that you literally need to go to the bathroom. There were also about 3 lectures a day about healthy eating which I really enjoyed. I will talk about the topics in another blog. On Saturday evening, there was a Kirtan concert that we could attend with lead singer Prajna Vieira from the band Mukti. On Sunday evening, there was a sound immersion class.

My experience: The morning class was so challenging that I couldn’t even make it to my evening class which was a yin class (super relaxing I hear) for both days! I learned so much from the lectures by Jenn Field & Amber Henzi. The people who attended the retreat could not have been more supportive and friendly. I loved meeting everyone. It was my first Kirtan concert and it was so fun! Prajna has such a BEAUTIFUL voice; you guys should really check her out! Sound immersion class was quite interesting…the man (I forgot his name) played these beautiful crystal bowls and gongs while everyone laid on the floor with their heads facing towards the instrument. You could feel the vibrations going through your body. Everyone fell asleep and woke up feeling different. I personally felt fine, although I kind of freaked out a little bit because at one point, it had a stereo effect and I could hear the sound coming from one ear to the other. Overall, I had a wonderful time. It was expensive but money well spent. My love for yoga is just growing and I can’t wait to share all the other adventures I have with you.

Hope you enjoy the pictures!

Namaste,

Jenn

Our comfy beds.

The awesome view from our beds.

Delicious smoothie: goji berries, raw cacao, bee pollen

Spring rolls for dinner =) The thai sauce was raw: tahini sauce, agave nectar, cashews…

Delicious split pea soup with raw cashew sour cream + avocado citrus salad

^^ Will post recipes once I get them

On our balcony

Dancer pose.

Found a yoga platform on our hike. Not the best form but working on it!

My boyfriend side planking =)

Leave a Reply

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

EATBREATHEYOGINI

Healthy Pescatarian, Vegetarian & Vegan Recipes + Yoga

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

Turning Veganese

I think I'm turning veganese, I really think so.

vinicooksveg

Amazing & fun.........Indian cooking!!

Avocados and Ales

Vegan cooking from the Midwest

