RSS Feed

Yoga Pose of the Week: Bakasana (Crow Pose)

Posted on

 

Bakasana

I decided to do a new series on my blog. Every Friday, I will be posting about the benefits of one yoga pose, along with my experience. Today’s yoga pose of the week is BAKASANA! Bakasana is considered an arm balance pose. To get into the pose, you’d want to get into a squat, where the heels of your feet are a couple inches apart. If your heels are lifted off the earth, go ahead and place a blanket underneath or take a wider stance. Put both arms out as if you’re giving someone a double “high five” and then place it directly onto the earth. DO NOT HYPEREXTEND. Bend your arms a little bit. Lift your hips up and place your knees closest to your armpits. Your face has to be VERY close the earth for this to work; look AHEAD of you; if you look back, you’ll fall. First, lift the left leg up then put it down. Second, life the right leg up and put it down. Once you feel comfortable, lift up the balls of your feet to lean forward and put legs up and balance! As a beginner, you’d wanna stay here on bent arms. Once you’re more advanced, you want to squeeze the legs against the arms and start to straighten your elbows. The inner knees will be attached to the outer arms, near the armpit. (I’m still working on this one.)

I would say it is a pretty challenging pose. During my first Vinyasa class, my teacher had us get into this pose. I was shocked watching her do the pose. How could anyone ever do this pose?! It’s nearly impossible! I was determined. I wanted to be strong enough to do it. I practiced about 5 times a week…after about 3 months, I was up and didn’t fall. I was able to hold it for 30 seconds; I felt like magician. Haha it’s amazing what your body can do when you practice and push it to the limit.

What are the benefits of this pose?
– You become super strong. It strengthens your arms, wrists, and abdominal muscles. It opens up your groin and stretches the upper back. Your abs will be more tone and last of all, you’d look SUPER AWESOME!

Hope you guys like this new series I’m doing. I am NOT a yoga instructor and have NOT gone through training. I am definitely  a newbie but just want to share my knowledge and love for yoga with everyone. Please ask your doctor or a professional before you do this. I wouldn’t want you to hurt yourself. =)

Namaste,
Jenn

3 responses »

  1. Impressive! I look forward to being able to practice yoga (albeit at a beginners level) after baby arrives. It’s hard to believe you’re a newbie!

    Reply
    • aww I didn’t know you were pregnant! Congratulations!!!! =)

      Reply
      • Oh, thanks so much! I am coming up to 32 weeks… and it’s been a different kind of pregnancy due to a high risk diagnosis, which is why I cannot do prenatal yoga this time around (I did it regularly when pregnant with my little boy). But it’s very exciting nonetheless… and of course I can start doing yoga/exercise again when baby arrives 🙂 All the best to you x

Leave a Reply

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

EATBREATHEYOGINI

Healthy Pescatarian, Vegetarian & Vegan Recipes + Yoga

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

Turning Veganese

I think I'm turning veganese, I really think so.

vinicooksveg

Amazing & fun.........Indian cooking!!

Avocados and Ales

Vegan cooking from the Midwest

